FiloFax Pennybridge

Well, it’s new year. What I’ve been waiting for to really get using a planner. I’m hoping for a busy year with many new plans, and hopefully some organisation! I’m officially trying to move into my pennybridge which could be easier said than done. She’s not quite finished yet, and more than likely will change multiple times but I’ve not really seen anyone set up in a pennybridge so this is where I’m starting…

IMG_2335
This is the iPad 2/3/4 Pennybridge. Yes, that is a huge cardboard cut-out of Link from The Legend of Zelda relected in my ipad.

This FiloFax was a christmas gift from my mum, it is used off eBay and came with original dividers, a lined notepad and the bookmark with no inserts.

The Pennybridge is a zipped folio with a removable organiser. To accommodate the iPad, the folio is slightly larger than A5 and can feel rather bulky which FiloFax have obviously tried to minimise as the spine is thinner than the outer edge. The pen loop is not attached to the organiser itself and instead if attached to the folio. It’s the obvious choice for the layout when it is used as one system but if you remove the organiser, you are missing a pen. The back portion of the organiser is solid plastic to slot into the folio whilst the front is very soft and supple. It is faux leather.

The back of the folio on the left has slot along the top which the writing pad was originally stored in but I removed it, securing it in the rings so I can get to the card slots on the back. So far they just hold my small post its and some stamps, originally it was going to hold my bank cards but I think I’ve changed my mind on that one. I think you can just make out the pen in the picture – it’s a 0.5 Pilot Frixon which have become my favourite pens ever. I have a selection in both 0.5 and 0.7 but prefer the .5 as an everyday writing pen.

IMG_2323

The front of my organiser holds some more post its and my dots. I’m using the red ones as diary indicators for doing things with Laufey (that’s him in my divider pictures). I might use the other colours in a similar fashion for work, the college course I’m hoping to start and volunteering but we’ll see on that front.

Inside my planner, I’m currently using a year on a page from wendaful, just because it’s pretty, and philofaxy week on two pages inserts. I made the goals page myself inspired by these. I had originally planned to use this one but it didn’t fit what I was looking for. The large shaded circles are a theme with the small circles being specific goals. My themes of the year are MiMi, Laufey, Personal and Career. I’ve not quite filled all of the small circles but I’m more than okay with that. I’m planning a matching food diary too as I’ve not found anything that matches what I want. I’m not sure I’ll stick with these inserts yet but we’ll see how I get on.

As you can see, there’s not really much going on in my life at the minute, I have work in the mornings and that’s about it but I’m hoping to start a college course later this month and I’ve been a volunteer for the RSCPA for a few years and I’m hoping to move from the charity shop (where I’ve admittedly not been in a while) to the animal centre and I can spend time with the animals. Due to the time of year, there’s no red dots this week either but they do pop up again from next week! If I start these things, then this will be my lifebook all year with this (hopefully) doubling as my college notebook and possibly even a tracker for the dogs I’m hoping to help train but we’ll have to see if there’s space as the rings are quite small.

If I’m going to use this planner as my all-in-one all year, it’s going to have to come to work and sit in my locker which is completely impossible for the whole thing so it’ll have to just be the organiser portion. As such, I’m looking into making a notebook cover for it when it’s wandering on its own with a handy pen holder but that’s going to take some time.

I’m going to end this little introductory review with a couple more pictures of my dividers. The pictures are the same on the front and the back but the back also has some brilliant quotes. They’re pretty much all related to dogs in some way or another, the A A Milne one is about friends and Laufey definitely fits that criteria too. The one on the right, of Laufey on the promenade is a quote by Natalia Alexandrov over on her blog dogsaremypatronus. I really love her blog, her dog tips are excellent and her humour whilst doing so is always a brilliant addition. I’m going to dedicate a whole post to them once I’ve finished working out the tabs

One thought on “FiloFax Pennybridge

Leave a Reply

